Creating an appealing image has become more important in contemporary society then it's the reality or truth behind that image.

I agree that creating an appealing image has become more important in the contemporary society, especially with the advanced technology, social media allows us to show more about ourselves. However, I think that the truth and reality is equally important as it is the human natures to learn about the reality and truth, that is why there are research on different aspects. Moreover, the truth is always affecting the image, that it is hard to pretend or give a good image all the time without an appealing truth and reality.

With social media, people are more likely to show themselves to the public by posting photos of oneself and their life. The photos we chose is the way that we want how others to perceive us. For example, we might create an image of a very kind and loving personality by posting photos of volunteering events. And the captions that we type with a bunch of loving words also gives a good impression to others. Since social media is all around us and it is even used for mate matching or job seeking, creating an appealing image is a must.

However, it is the human nature to know about the truth, and when the truth and reality is different with what they see, people will definitely speak up. With the Facebook company where an employee was suicide because of the high work pressure and being unfairly treated because of his visa status, people were protesting outside Facebook with the quote that the Facebook CEO once said about good working environment within Facebook in order to keep their employees working in the company and not leaving. This is very ironic when it comes to the truth that Facebook is not a company that you can enjoy the gym and other facilities within the office, but a place to capture the employees and work within Facebook day and night.

It is very important that the truth and reality is what affecting the image, no matter it is about a company or a person. Although it is easy to build a wonderful and appealing image towards the public, people know about the truth and reality. And with the power of the social media, this is what can wreck someone or a company campaign which they have been working for since then.

In conclusion, it is important to create an appealing image in the contemporary society, while the truth behind should be what it drives to our appealing image otherwise this is what can wreck the one’s reputation in just one day.