The following appeared in a memorandum from the business planning department of Avia Airlines:

“Of all the cities in their region, Beaumont and Fletcher are showing the fastest growth in the number of new businesses. Therefore, Avia should establish a commuter route between them as a means of countering recent losses on its main passenger routes. And to make the commuter route more profitable from the outset, Avia should offer a 1/3 discount on tickets purchased within two days of the flight. Unlike tickets bought earlier, discount tickets will be nonrefundable, and so gain from their sale will be greater.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion, be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

Avia's strategies to tackle recent loss in revenue lack proper information in order to confidently say it will turn around the declining revenue. Two assumptions are made; first is the assumption that the growing businessesin Beaumont and Fletcher will lead to an increase in air-commute between the two cities. The second is that discounted, non-refundable tickets, with a restraint, will lead to improved revenue streams.

In order to address the first assumption, Avia should further research the nature of the growing new businesses in each city and their relation, if any, to each other. Is there any actual need for the new business's employees to commute between each city? It could be the cities's businesses are locally focused, or even require commute to totally separate areas. If this is the case, a new route will only add cost. However if the businesses require air commute to the other city, then Avian's strategy could prove beneficial.

The second assumption should be looked at from a consumer perspective. Assuming Avian's flights regularly reach passenger capacity, an individual consumer would, all things equal, save money from purchasing a discounted ticket two days before the flight rather than paying full price upfront. If consumers do so, this will lead to the opposite result Avian is expecting. Alternatively, if consumer's err on the side of caution by purchasing a full-priced refundable ticket, and discounted tickets would encourage more last-minute passengers, then this strategy could also have the positive impact Avian is looking for.

Avia's memorandum states two strategies, which assume evidence that is not clearly based on any sort of market research. Avia Airlines will greatly benefit from reevaluating its strategies as it currently lacks the proper and relevant information to confidentially reach the current conclusion.