an iconic american bike was copied by a foreign company but could not achieve the same success and study points towards lack of same engine roar. American cars are copied but sell the same amount in foreign countries even though the engine roar is absent. what would be the first thing to establish in this case.

The above argument is purely based on public mentality. Even though Motorcycle-X does not advertise the engine-roar it has become a signature of its vehicle which has spread worl-wide. The copy of this original was not successfully achieved as the public tends to always compare it with its original counter-part. From a technical view point, the noise reduction is most probably a result of much more stringent pollution norms set by foreign governments. In the process of complying with pollution norms the engine build has to go through massive changes which compromises the original output of the engine. The other alternative is to re-engineer the vehicle with new technology which eventually drives the per unit cost of the vehicle, another demotivating factor for consumers. The motorcycle segment as such cannot be compared to the car segment considering the target consumers are totally diffirent in each case. Cars are used by majority of the people as a daily commute option wheras a the motorcycle ridiing daily commuters are very slim relatively. The noisiness of american cars is a result of poor refining and low production and unit cost which is the staple of american car industry. Europe on the other had is a continent collectively nature loving hence they use highly refined and tech based cars.

The best form of comparitive argument would be a ratio based comparison and not a sales based form. All factors needs to be considered starting from public mentality to production tech. In all fairness, products are only launched in markets after extensive surveys and viability analysis so the failure of a product indicates a gross miscalculation in launch and penetration strategy.