Children should learn to compete or to cooperate with each other?

Together with the progression of a more challenging world arrives controversial notions of students' education. Some advocate competition in the classroom while others praise cooperation between children. In my perspective, I consider it safe to assume that each mode of teaching has its own set of pros and cons.

Firstly, a friendly rivalry has some glaring advantages. It is a cornerstone for self-development as incentives are of paramount importance. Students, when triggered by rightful aims, will be more self-disciplined and ready to embark on a self-propelled education journey. Should this reason be adopted by every student, study quality can escalate dramatically. Hence they can found the building blocks of a more élite society . Notwithstanding this, competitive learning doesn't come without its self-evident evils. An unbridgeable knowledge gap is surely the first peril. Having to face incessant out-performed examinations, some children may lag behind, and self-doubt, massive stress accumulation, suicidal thoughts may prey on them drastically. Therefore, some insurmountable problems arise and severe discrimination is an unavoidable consequence.

Meanwhile, cooperation can aid students with its benefits. By their working together towards a mutual goal, each individual's strength can compound each other, serving a dual purpose. This may cement the friendship and the bond in a classroom aiding students who tend to shy away from extra tutorials. Furthermore, as sheer academic performance should not be a yardstick to measure one's intellectual abilities, soft skills and social know-how acquired through teamwork may vastly make students more employable in the working environment. However, as two sides of a coin, cooperative learning is not without its disadvantages. IN an environment where there is no excellent individual to look up to, students are easily discouraged and can lose the passion to push themselves beyond their capacity.

To sum up, competition and cooperation in the classroom are double-edged swords. Thus a balanced adoption of these two methods may best serve to instill great character traits in students.