CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

Globalization and technological advancement have allowed a shift in global marketing topics. Multinational corporations who used to be accountable only to their shareholders, now hold responsibilities toward local communities in which they operate, pressured to acknowledge their impacts on the economy, the environment, and all other aspects of society.

Manufacture activities can have detrimental side effects on the environments and stakeholders. Factories not only contribute the lion's share of carbon emission to the cause of global warming, but they are also considered a nuisance by their neighbors. And there are many negative impacts revealed on the ubiquitous world wide web such as Nestle's case of Osceola, in Michigan (USA) in which the company attempted to privatize a public water source, depriving the locals of access to domestic water. It is these kinds of suffering caused by corporations' actions that they shouldmust be aware of whether it was intentional or unintentional.

More than ever, consumers learn to use their purchasing power to boycott companies with bad reputation, and advocate for corporations who have done good deeds for society. While Nestle was shunned upon for causing pollution, using child labor, or manipulating uneducated mothers, Adidas was applauded for taking an action toward solving coastal plastic waste. The company partnered up with an environmental organization called Parley for the Oceans to collect beverage container debris floating on the sea. These plastic bottles were recycled into a special kind of threads that then turned into shoes. This shoe collection was so popular because the current environmentally minded generation of customers specifically sought it. From 2015 when it debuted to 2017, it is estimated that Adidas has sold more than a million pairs of Parley.

In conclusion, multinational organizations by fulfilling their corporate social responsibility of delivering benevolence to their employees, the local communities, and the environment are often considered favorable by public opinions.