Getting promotion is one of the biggest drives for people to apply themselves and work hard in modern workplace. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotion? What other factors influence people to work hard?

It is true that being promoted is one of the important driving forces behind a person’s determination and hard work. There are a number of reasons for this mentality and I believe that people striving to work also stems from many other factors.

That many try to work harder in order to get promotions could be attributed to two major factors. The first reason is that higher positions could help workers raise their incomes, thus relieving their financial burdens. Specifically, they would struggle less to purchase the necessities, cover the bills as well as have an extra amount of money to raise their families, providing their children with better education. In addition, it is a desire for some people to achieve high status in society, which they could get through gaining promotions. Workers often want to receive acknowledgement of what they have done for the companies and society as a whole.

I would contend that promotions is not the only reason for people displaying commitment to their work. Firstly, some go to work not only because of the money or status they get but also the job satisfaction they derive from the professions. Getting to work could provide workers with the opportunities to meet people from different walks of life, thus building long-lasting relationships and expanding their social circles. Secondly, some people may embark on a career just because they want to contribute to society. For instance, there are numerous nonprofit organizations which aim to offer help to people from an underprivileged background. Those are the people who are motivated to accomplish their tasks in earnest to help and affect others’ lives in a positive way.

In conclusion, the desire for receiving promotions could be put down to several reasons and there are a great deal of other factors contributing to people’s diligence in their jobs.