An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors, nurses, and teachers are leaving their own countries to work in develop countries.

What problems do this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with the situation?

More and more educated and skilled individuals, like healthcare workers and educators to name a few, emigrate to develop countries for employment and improvement of their quality of life. This movement resulted in economic and social difficulties in the their home country. Despite of this, there are various ways to stop this phenomenon.

To begin with, the migration of professionals, predominantly from developing nations to develop country, has greatly deterred the economic progress of their homeland. This is because there is a shortage of experienced labor force that will work in the various income generating industries in the home country. In addition, there is also a loss of revenue due to this movement because there are less tax payers in the country. Furthermore, another problem that can arise from immigration is social problem particularly for their children. This is because young individuals growing up without the presence of parents will lack guidance and discipline that is enforced at home. These leads to behavioral problems and some children are even involve in gangs and petty crimes. According to a study in juvenile delinquency, a significant number of these children were brought up by a single parent or were had absentee parents, due to overseas employment, since childhood.

Nevertheless, there are ways for the government to stop the brain drain or the departure of highly skilled workers to a foreign country. First, there should be an increase in the monetary compensation and additional incentives for these professionals. This is because this will allow them to improve their standard of living and provide a comfortable life for their family, since these are the primary reasons as to why these people are driven to leave their country. Furthermore, another means of preventing these workers from migrating is for the government and institutions to enhance working facilities and open more job opportunities in there home countries. Through this professionals do not need to be separated from their families and thereby can guide their children in their formative years. In a survey conducted among overseas workers, majority of them would consider returning home if they are given local opportunities to practice their professions.

In conclusion, there are negative effects of the migration of skilled professionals in the country’s economy and society. This is evident in the slow progress of the national economy due to lack of human resource and the effect to the family. However, there are ways to reverse the relocation these individuals by offering a higher salary and a better chance of domestic employment.