Nowadays, people move from one country to another for work. Some people think children of these families suffer because of this, while others think it is helpful for them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It’s considered by many that parents who frequently change the place of living in a search of new career opportunities make their children suffer from it, while other people think that young members of family can benefit from such a way of life. I can partially agree with both views because introducing a child to a new culture can influence their development positively but, at the same time, put a heavy burden on their psychological state.

On the one hand, constant need to adjust to new social environment may occur rather difficult for young people. This is to say, the difference in mentality, standards of behavior and approaches in upbringing a young generation, which are practiced and appreciated in other country, may cause inner contradictions in a child and their unwillingness to accept the new reality and society as they are. Language barrier can also be regarded as another issue of concern. Children, especially those who are going through major struggles of their puberty as well as young preschoolers, may face the problem of misunderstanding while socializing with their peers, what can make them reserved and unsociable or, moreover, can trigger an inferiority complex. I strongly believe that all the difficulties mentioned above in this essay must be taken into consideration by parents in order to make sure their children have a stable emotional background and feel comfortable having been put into a new cultural environment, because professional interests and ambitions shouldn’t be preferred over the offspring’s well-being.

On the other hand, moving to another country may have some advantages for children and the most significant ones are bilingualism and the opportunity to make new friends. In the era of computers, mobile phones and the Internet young people can easily socialize with their peers from all over the globe virtually, with the help of social networks. So, why can’t they do it in real life? In my opinion, meeting people who represent another culture or another walk of life can help to gain new experience and make a child’s view of life more flexible and extended. Furthermore, language skills have always been thought to be a competitive advantage in most professional fields.

To conclude, while parents move from one place to another in attempt to work their way up the career ladder, children can suffer tremendously from constant changes in their social environment, although meeting new people and studying foreign languages can be beneficial for their development and future job.