People should have the right to carry a gun, as crime rate
is on the increase
One of the most challenging issues that the modern democracies
has to face is the surging crime rate. In this scenario, many are of the
opinion that citizens should have the right to carry a gun, where as many
others argue that it may only help to further increase the crime rates.
First of all, those who support possession of weapon justify
their claim with the logic that people have a right to self-defence. As
such, having a gun comes handy in such situations as it is a useful weapon
to protect yourself from criminals who may otherwise endanger your life.
For example, my neighbour, who is wealthy, managed to scare away alleged
robber with his gun and protect his life.
Conversely, many are against letting people carry a gun as they
believe it may only help to aggravate the situation instead, leading to
more crimes. they state that as weapons like guns become easily obtainable,
irrational and illogical use of it may lead to unprecedented and disastrous
outcomes. For example, there had been cases where family members shot each
other on the spur of the moment, based on momentary emotions. Moreover, if
guns are not safely kept when there are children in the house, it may
unknowingly cause accidents and harm both the child and other members
of the family.
In conclusion, though the number of brutal crimes are peaking,
it is still not advisable to carry around guns, as more harm may come from
it than good. it might only help to escalate crime rate further. As such,
it is best that citizenry depended on the law enforcement of a nation rather
than taking matters into their own hand.