Should mathematics and philosophy be compulsory at school? To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that subjects such as math and philosophy should be made mandatory at school while others subscribe to the point that it is up to students to decide the subjects. This essay agrees completely with the former point of view for two main reasons. Firstly, studying mathematics is essential to acquire basic knowledge to survive and to be motivated to give birth to great inventions. Secondly, being expert in philosophy is vital for one to understand and work to improve society growth and individual development.

One of the compelling reason which supports my argument is that the ability to calculate and do basic levels of arithmetic is indispensable for children who are soon-to-be adults to survive in life. This can be further illustrated from the fact that children must be able to be familiar with basic figures and work with numbers to carry out daily tasks like going to the market, do business with others or balancing financial budgets. A prime example of this would be a study conducted by the University of Michigan which indicates that students who had approached math in early ages find it easier to adapt to the ever-changing contexts of life. Additionally, it is also argued that the mysteries of mathematical equations can intrigue and motivate students to give birth to revolutionary inventions. In fact, a survey concluded by the Cambridge University has shown that 80% of those inventions that have changed unconscious practices of human’ daily lives are originated from those who were familiar with the applications of math in their younger days.

Another important justification worth mentioning is that subjects like philosophy is beyond important for students to make sense of fundamentals that are vital for societal and individual growth. To be more specific, students that understand the basic rules and definitions of life can penetrate how the law regulate the society in a way that is to meet the demand of the whole community. In this way, students can identify true problems associating with their society and find solutions to tackle them. In addition, learning philosophy can be beneficial for oneself. Exploring the philosophical world can cultivate one’s self-awareness and things around them. To illustrate, it is evinced from researches that people who are experts in philosophy tend to live in harmony with others and refrain from difficult situations for the sake of profits.

In conclusion, mathematics and philosophy bear significant values to human lives. Therefore, it is my firm conviction that these two subjects should be compulsory for students for the fact that maths is essential for children to use in daily lives and to be motivated to create revolutionary inventions, whereas, philosophy is important for student to get insightful perspectives on societal and individual values, thus, be able to improve both aspects.