Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on all
school, subjects. But, others believe that teenagers should focus on the
subject that they are best at or that they find the most interesting.
Discuss both these views and give your own opinion
People are divided on the issue of the subjects which teenagers should be required to study. Some believe
that these young school goers should be made to study all subjects, whereas others say that they should be
given the choice of studying subjects of their interest. This essay shall analyze both perspectives. l,
personally side with the former view. I believe that in today's competitive world, a broad knowledge is
needed to succeed in any field.
There are many reasons why some people hold the opinion that students should not have to study all the
subjects and should be allowed to choose the subjects they want to study. They opine that in this case the
students will probably be more enthusiastic about their study. ln addition, if students are forced to study
all subjects, they can easily lose interest in education. What is more, if all subjects are compulsory for
studying, students will not have enough time to learn all of them properly; therefore they will be constantly
under a lot of pressure.
However, I believe all subjects are of great importance and for the holistic development of the students
they need to study all subjects equally at school level. Later on, during admission to the colleges, students
can select the subjects of their choice and can explore them further. At that age they are mature enough to
decide their sub.jects for themselves. At school level the student may not know what his real interests are.
Furthermore, nowadays, the job market is very demanding and the recruiters select students who are
skilled in various fields. Having the basic knowledge of varied subjects during school time definitely widens
the horizons for the students. To add to it, it is a well-known fact that most subjects are related to each
other in some way or the other. For example, a basic knowledge of mathematics is needed to excel in
computer languages. Finally, I believe that it is up to the teachers to develop interest of the students in any
subject. For instance, during my school days, my history teacher was so good that a boring subject like
history was the favourite subject of the whole class.
To sum up, it can be said that students should learn all subjects at school level, as they are not mature
enough to know their real interests at school level and a broad knowledge is also needed for their holistic
development.