Some people think that people should be given right to use of fresh water as they like. Others believe governments should control toughly over the use of fresh water. Discuss both view and give your own opinion

Recently, the media has put a lot of emphasis on saving water. While someone thinks that saving water is nonsense and we should not be restricted on water usage, others hold the view that government control is necessary. This essay will discuss both sides first then give my opinion.

It can be argued that using water is a fundamental right for human beings. Water is the most essential element for life and is strongly needed in our daily lives as we have to drink and take shower. Too much restrictions on using water may result in health deterioration since these basic needs are not satisfied. Moreover, agricultural industries relies on water to irrigate plants, and some products such as paper and fabric cannot be manufactured without water. Thus, controlling on water may also bring negative effects on agricultural and manufacturing industries.

Nevertheless, the opponents think that regulations on water should be made by the government mainly due to two reasons. Firstly, the water shortage is increasingly severe nowadays. Contemporary people tend to exploit this precious natural resource by wasting it and discharging sewage to it. If no action is taken today, the future generation might confront fresh water supplement issues. Secondly, the supply of water might be imbalanced within the countries. The drought area such as the desert may see short supply in fresh water, while there is abundant water supply in coastal cities. The government should take the responsibility to distribute the resource optimally and the usage in cities with tight water supply should be restricted to ensure that the necessities of all citizens have been met.

In my opinion, regulations about water supply may be necessary in drought areas and it should also depend on who the user is. As mentioned before, the needs of fresh water for all dwellers should be fulfilled. It might be immoral to impose restrictions on human needs. However, the overusing of the water by industrial companies should be restricted to prevent water shortage. We all need to act upon this environmental issue and make our world more sustainable to live.