Large business have big budget for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

It is considered by some that big corporations have more sales because of their substantial investment in marketing. In my opinion, this leads to the deterioration of small-scale business, however, certain measures can be implemented.

In many parts of the world small business owners are struggling to compete with major corporations. In an independent study conducted by Harvard, it was found that over 60% percent of owners are planning to shut down their business in the near future. Commonly cited reasons for being unable to complete were lack of funds and corporations being able to source cheaper products.

The decline of ‘mom and pop shops’ has significantly impacted the local community. In Lebanon, MO, USA, which is part of the infamous route 66, there were many small businesses. However, when Walmart, started a store in the town, the small shops went out of business. Hence, people started moving to other cities. Due to lack of customers, Walmart decided to relocate their store. However, the damage had already been done and Lebanon had become a ghost town, with less than a third of the population remaining.

To protect these businesses, often passed through family, awareness via social media is a crucial factor. Recently, when Amazon decided to build a second headquarters in Queens, New York the local population boycotted Amazon. There were street protests in front of the governor’s office for multiple days. Consequentially, Amazon decided not to build a headquarters in New York.

In conclusion, small businesses are critical for the wellbeing of a community and they need to be protected by educating people on the downsides of large corporations.