Some parents maintain that co-education is better for their children while others believe it is better if boys and girls go to single –sex schools. Discuss.

Netizens have recently debated on the subject “choosing single-sex schools or coed-schools” in the New York Times. As reading all the comments, I see myself belong to the group of advocates who support the idea that students should go to the co-ed schools.

First of all, the greatest advantage of learning in coed - schools is to contribute to gender equity. The socialists pointed out that gender diversity has been more accepted in modern society. It can be explained that we have put efforts to build a society in which all gender, heterosexuality, and non-heterosexuality, can enjoy their life without any gender discrimination and stigma. However, the single-sex schools might not be on the same page with this statement because its system is not for everyone. For instance, it would be a dilemma to decide whether a transgender goes to all-boy schools or all-girl schools. We are unsure of which environment they fundamentally belong to. Naturally, the coed-schools offer a safe and comfortable academic environment to help students expose themselves and flourish intellectually and socially through many helpful curriculums and extracurricular activities.

In addition, it is believed that boys and girls have different propensities and mindset. From that point, at the coed - school environment, all students can take advantage to support, learn how to work with each other. Indeed, we are not living in the world with only one gender, and to prepare for the future life when they have to work with the diverse gender and nationalities, the more they understand about the opposite sex, the more effective they can make at work.

Last but not least, many people feel that single-sex schools unexpectedly generate gender stereotypes. Through many years, we had been convinced that “men build the house and women make it home”. It means men were born to do big and hard things which required strength while women were suitable for easy and skillful jobs. Somehow, we assume boys are probably good at STEM whilst girls usually have good achievements in humanities classes. As a result, many single-schools will focus on building up and enhance their facilities based on those assumptions. This is shown students may have less chance to become well-rounded.

In conclusion, the co-education system should be more encouraged to create a comfortable place for all genders.