some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides.

The culture of a society is often expressed in the form of an art. In my opinion, I believe that the schools should incorporate art lessons in their curriculum. However, this should not be at the expense of other critical topics.

Teaching art in school will enable the children to learn more about their culture. Bharatanatyam, is a form of art in Tamil Nadu, India, where the dancer depicts various poses, which has historical significance to the culture of Tamil Nadu. By learning Bharatanatyam, the children can understand the meaning on these poses and how it ties to their cultural history. For example, the dancer touching the floor at beginning signifies the traditional way of paying respects to elders by touching their feet.

Similarly, the study of paintings is a visual aid for children to understand history. Various paintings of Da Vinci and Picasso depict the renaissance period where was a change in the thinking of humans. For example, one of the well know painting of Picasso, The Dome, clearly depicts how architectures were during his period.

However, with the world becoming more competitive than ever before, it is important to prioritize courses like computers, math, and science. Nowadays, by the time children reach 10th grade they are already pressured into studying for entrance exams. JIIT is a popular exam in India, taken to get admission into India’s top universities. This exam comprises just of math and science.

In conclusion, while understanding art can give children a sense of identity, it is more important for them to know skills that could help them in their future.