Old age is a curse

There is a huge controversy over the issue whether old age is a curse or not.Some people think that retirement has negative effect on people’s lives.Others disagree. In my opinion, being old is not a curse.

The people who believe that being old is a curse claim that old people live alone , have no social life and their health is poor. In many cases living alone can cause depression in old people.Furthermore, old people have no job anymore and they do not have a social life , which is terrifying for some people. Old people usually have health problems like: joint pain , heart problems , cancer. Poor health can prevent old people from enjoying their retirement days.If this is true, those opinions can be justified.

Even though I acknowledge the validity of those arguments , it is outweighed by the following counter-argument. When people get old they retire , which means they have more free time for entertainment. Old people can spend whole day reading books , watching films and meeting their friends. Futhermore , I would like to say that being old doesn’t mean termination of active life . Some of them start new life from that point .For example , William S. Burroughs and Marcel proust started writing their first books at the old age . I personally believe that old age could not set limits to peoples lives.

In conclusion , I would like to to stress again that old age is not a curse. Yes , it might be true that being old can be related to lonliness and health problems . However, it can not be also denied that old people still can enjoy life and even more start new life also.