Achievements in biodiversity conservation

Biodiversity conservation is one of major tasks that are emphasized in Resolution 24/NQ-TW: “Active response to climate change, improvement of natural resource management and environmental protection”. The Resolution also emphasizes that environmental protection must harmonize with nature, adapt to the law of nature, prioritize the prevention and control of environmental pollution, protect natural resources and biodiversity.

In recent years, the rapid economic growth has brought considerable economic benefits, but also has caused negative impacts on biological divesity. From 1995 to 2013, the Vietnam’s population growth increased from 73 to 89 million. The increasing population has resulted in the high level of consumption of natural resources. In addition, the global context is creating new challenges: The climate change is becoming more severe and adversely affecting the biodiversity. Therefore, Vietnam biodiversity is rapidly declining. The numbers of wild species and their populations have declined sharply. 882 rare animal and plant species with high economic value are threatened at different levels which are listed in the Red Data Book of Vietnam 2007. The biodiversity degradation is the cause of the disruption of ecological balance, directly affects the living environment and threatens the sustainable development of the country.