1. Pool of Argument Essays: Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument discusses that the woven baskets, that once found near Palea, were not uniquely prepared in the village of Palea because the baskets were found in another independent village as well. Although this argument provides some evidence to support the idea, there are some holes that brings up controversial matters.

First of all, the author explains his idea by assuming that the two villages did not have any communications to take the baskets from Palea to Lithos since no traces of the boats used by Palean people were found. Not finding any boats in Palea is not a strong reason for lack of transportation between Lithos and Palea. Lack of vestiges of boats can be explained by many reasons: There might have been some other ways to travel between Lithos and Palea. For example, people from Lithos had their own boats and Lithosean boats transported the baskets to Lithos. Another explanation can be a bridge over the river. Moreover, the boats could have been rotten during the time because they were wooden. To strengthen the argument, the author should add information about the other possible ways of transportation.

Furthermore, the author mentions another reason to reject the idea of commuting between Palea and Lithos over the river. He states that the river is very deep and broad which makes it impossible for Palean people to travel without any boats. As explained in the previous paragraph, there might have been some other instruments to cross the river. Additionally, the river might have been shallow at the time. Changes at the climate is a common event that happened a lot in the earth's history. Hence, any variation in the depth of the river is possible. Therefore, the arguer should provide some information about the climate and stream of river at that time to improve the argument.

Assuming that the two villages did not have any relationship to transfer the woven baskets, the same pattern used to weave the baskets makes the idea of independent preparing of the baskets dubious. It is unbelievable to weave the baskets with a particular distinctive pattern at the same time but in two different places. What is not mentioned is the passage is the ways of conveying the baskets without any involvement of human, such as wind or river current. However, the writer can support his idea by providing information about the traces of tools and sources used to weave the baskets at two villages. For example, some reeds and plants used in some ancient crafts are indigenous to specific places.

To wrap it up, the skeptical issues in the passage related to the rejection of the relationship between Palea and Lithos weaken the argument. Nonetheless, adding some information about different methods of communication - including bridges, boats in other places rather than Palea - and existing conditions at the moment - such as climate conditions - will improve the argument to a more plausible one. In addition, comparing the pattern of woven baskets in different places or the sources used to weave them will provide useful information to accept or reject the assumptions in the passage.