167. "The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings, we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that activities of non-residents committee of the Oak city should be limited and indigenous citizens should be replaced, instead. In fact, non-residents members are not able to make a sound decision for improvement of the city. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored questions need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that in recent meetings they could not come to an agreement for the limited budget owing to the fact that non-residents members make foolish decisions. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether non-residents' decisions are foolishly or citizens of the city are not able to perceive decisions. One point that should be considered is the fact that the author does not mention anything about the content of the meetings. In fact, maybe non-residents give their ideas and make a decision based on limited budget but citizens of the Oak city could not understand the situation. Or maybe citizens of the city have an insatiable desire for the limited budget, who knows?

The author also points out that non-residents members of the committee are not knowledgeable and are not able to handle economic and political situations. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if citizens of the city are knowledgeable and eligible for the committee. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is the fact that the author does not represent anything about hallmarks of neither non-residents nor citizens of the Oak City. There is a possibility that citizens of the city do not be knowledgeable persons as well and could not be able to make sound decisions for the development of the city.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author non-residents members of the committee could not understand the situation of the city because they do not pay the taxes. Nevertheless, the rationale behind the premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if just taxpayers could appreciate and perceive the situation of the city. One point that should not go unnoticed is the fact that the author does not take the living environment of the non-residents members into consideration. In fact, they pay taxes in their living area, so, it is not fair to allege that they do not understand anything about the situation of the city. There is a possibility that they pay taxes as twice as Oak city residents.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.