1. The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The note according to some dubious pieces of evidence and shaky assumptions about salicylates and its usage in the food industry as preservatives; concludes that the exteriors implementation of this substance as a flavor will lead to the further decrement of the complaints about the headaches. This conclusion cannot be accepted as it stands since its rearing hypotheses and evidence are all skeptical and illogical. The following paragraphs will list these doubts over the considered surmises.

First of all, in the note, by estimation of the belonging to the identical family, there is the expectation of a similar reaction from salicylates as aspirin that does painkiller. Sharing the same family does not give the same properties; maybe there are similarities in some aspects of physically or chemically, but having an identical reaction from two different materials is impossible. For instance, while graphic and diamond are from the same family, they do not possess similar physical and chemical property, this expectation from salicylates and aspirin is a dead-end job too.

Secondly, the note considers a study as the clue form the effectiveness of salicylates as a painkiller; however, in this consideration, a list of substantial concerns is overlooked. For example, the cases considered for the study is the exact representation of Mentia, since there is no information about the case studies and there is the possibility of the consideration of a group of people who do not have the same physiological stands as Mentia; so the effect which salicylates have on them will not have on Mentai denizens. Or if they are from Mentia and completely show the entire population, there are missing points about their lifestyle and diet during these twenty years. There is a probability that this group uses another type of painkiller besides the consumption of persevered food by salicylates; furthermore, the effect of that medicine is higher than salicylates for controlling the aches. In this case, this study with its missing cogent data about the conducted situations cannot be a reliable reference for the verification of salicylates effectiveness for headache reduction.

Finally, at the end of the note, there is a conclusion which assumed with additive usage of salicylates in foods as the flavor will end to a drastic reduction of the headache. Even the acceptance of treatment effect of salicylates for headache, this result is skeptical too, since, for each human being, there are limits for his intake materials; in addition, a consumption beyond this boundary, neither below not above, will cause the sever health issues on the individual. Therefore, the assumption that extra usage of salicylates as the flavor can be beyond the upper limit of intake for salicylates and causes the other side-effects. Moreover, there is no clue that salicylates as the flavor which goes under some chemical progression by foods components will depict the same function as it does as preservatives. Consequently, these result and expectation based on the lack of information about the boundary of usage and property alteration by combining with other food components are dubious ones.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned clues explicitly illustrate this note and its relied evidence are shaky and unreliable. For verification of this note, there should be more clue about the conducted study and its considered population and chemical property of salicylates.