41. A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, howe

In given article, the author proposes that the government progress actions focusing more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets. However, despite the presented arguments, several questions need to be answered for each of the argument to be assessed adequately.

First of all, the author assumes that helmet wearing rate has gradually increased from 35 percent for ten years ago to nearly 80 percent for today; however, this might be not persuasive without any certainty. Even it is true that the first research was a nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling, the result is flexible in order to deduce the accurate research. For instance, the sample size of bicyclists might be contingent on affordability. If, ten years ago, bicycle was not affordable for people who live with average salary, the sample size might have not been sufficient enough. However, if today’s bicycle is accessible for people to purchase it for themselves, the sample size might be enough to plausible research. Affordable bicycle between two periods might have been created quite such a large difference of the rate. Thus, in order to support percent difference between two periods, additional evidence is proposed.

Moreover, the author asserts that during ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has drastically increased 200 percent than the past due to wearing a helmet which result in making bicyclists feel safer and being risky ,which might lead the conclusion to be unwarranted. However, according to the assumption in the statement, drastic increased percent of the number of bicycle-related accidents might guide readers to questions. For example, survey respondents might be biased in young bicyclists. While old bicyclists are more likely to ride their bicycle safely, young people tend to enjoy themselves faster when bicycling which lead them to accident. Unless the sample is collected from all age groups, the result is heavily skewed toward high accident rate. Therefore, further proof such as collected sample from all age groups is necessitated to build strong connection with high accident rate between two periods for producing successful conclusion.

Last but not least, in the reading passage, the assumption that the cause of higher bicycle related accident rate might be based on whether wearing helmet which is the sole determinant determining the higher accident rate. The argument could be explained with clearly with an example. Other possible reasons might substantiate this argument such as the spot where the research took place. Even bicyclists wearing helmets are protecting themselves from accident, in dangerous places such as near roads, regardless of whether wearing helmet, the possibility of accidents is high enough to accumulate into records of accidents. Hence, other plausible determinants are required to bolster up the assumption.

To sum up, further evident pertaining above assumptions is required to be corroborated for an adequate evaluation.