54. Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of

the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct.

Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that

the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have

discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such

areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals.

Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species'

extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are

for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this argument reaches a conclusion stating that either climate change or other environmental factors caused the large mammals extinction in the Kaliko Islands by eliminating the effects of human factors’ acting on this extinction based on the fact that no evidence shows a connection between humans and mammals. The argument relies on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, which considered together render the argument wholly unconvincing.

One such assumption is that humans must have hunted fish in that the bones of fish are found in a number of sites. However, the bones of fish may not be a result of anthropic behaviors as could be other factors contributing to this discovery. For instance, fish may be washed out on shore during spring tide and died since it was out of water. As a result, it is possible to find its bones after a long time weathering. Another explanation could be these bones of fish are what left by not humans but by bears or other predators. Any of these scenarios, if true, would serve to weaken the author’s causality between the bones of fish and humans hunting, which in turn undermine the author’s conclusion. Therefore, only when a more obvious evidence that humans actions caused the bones of fish is stated can the conclusion of the argument be strengthened.

A second assumption is upon which no evidence related to humans was discovered implying humans can not have hunted the mammals. The editor neglects any other reasons that could make this assumption untenable. It is entirely possible that the devoid of bones of large mammals may due to excessive trading on these bones or furs of these large mammals with neighboring areas. Or local people could have made these bones as artificial handicraft articles for commercial and aesthetic purposes, which will also destroy the evidence of humans activities causing the extinction of the mammals. Consequently, the editor can not justifiably conclude that humans can not hunted the mammals on the grounds that possibilities listed above can explain such a non existence of bones of the mammals.

Finally, the “either some climate change or other environmental factor” statement cited by the author is fallacious in that there are other reasons contributing to the extinction of large mammals other than the two cited by the author, such as competition among species, natural disasters, and diseases. Undoubtedly, not only the natural’s rule of survival of the fittest but also the spread of diseases and unexpected natural disaster will remain the winner and rule out weak species. Without considering the existence of a myriad of other factors, the author falsely concludes climate change and environmental factor are the only two reasons caused the extinction of large mammals.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To strengthen it the argument’s proponent must provide clear evidence that the bones of fish are caused by humans activities. In addition, the author also needs to provide evidence that haunting is the only possible humans activity and there are no possibilities that the bones of large mammals will be used for commercial and aesthetic purposes.