"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument presented is flawed due to a number of unwarranted assumptions and lack of supporting evidence presented.

First of all, the writer mentions that the percentage of positive reviews about specific movies have increased over the past year. Does that mean that movies have improved in quality? Or it may be that the part of population, super screen movies are now attracting doesn't have the sense of what good movies are? It may also be the case, that the positive reviews are about the better selection of actresses in the movie, or they may have given positive review about a song which they liked, but this doesn't mean a good movie at all. Thus, specifics about the type of reviews received, should be summarized and added to the argument. Moreover, the type of audience which is attending the movies, their understanding about the script should be noted to know exactly how the quality of the movie is.

Secondly, increase in percentage of positve reviews may also be due to the fact that, the persons who disliked the movie left early without leaving a review. There may be only fifty people in the cinema and these people are the only fifty people who liked your movies from the thousand attendees previous year. Thus, percentage of positive reviews was meant to increase. We should have a comparitive data which have details about the viewer that, how long he has been visiting this cinema? What were his previous reviews? Are the new reviews better than the previous one? How many viewers who had negative views last year are not coming this year? After getting the answers to these question a more convincing deduction could be made.

Finally, just because of the fact that lesser people are coming to watch the movie doesn't mean that the news about it is not being spread to the majority. We should have a survey in the town from where we expect to attract viewers. They should be asked whether they know about the movie or not? Why didn't they attend the previous movie? What are their interests? What do they like to watch? Apart from these questions, we must check the economic conditions that may have varied over the past year. It may be that the price of the movie is now increased and not affordable for the population. Through these questions the company could know that whether their movie needs more advertisement, or they need to invest on better scripts or they need to lower the prices of the tickets. They can also check for other available options for watching movies that a user may be preferring. Knowing it will help to strengthen the argument for funding increase.

Thus , we can conclude that this argument needs a lot of questions answered before the company can finally adopt its conclusion as a policy.