Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate

studies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile

accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate that pilots are four

times less likely than average to have accidents on the road.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine

whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

The argument made by Airline industery representatives that flying is better than driving in terms of safety procedures since it depends on two specific reasons. First, study shows that number of deaths caused by car accidents are much more than those of air planes. Another reason which imply that piolots are more careful as they are less likely to have accidents. However, the argument is not entirely logically convincing as it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First of all, the argument depends on a ambiguous study that shows that death rates by car accidents are much more than those of flight accidents. The study should clearly define where and when that study have been done? It may be taken in a undeveloped or third-world country which have not cultivated roads so that result to a large number of deaths. Also, mathematics not always give a precise indicator, in other words 40000 out of 1000000 who drive cars on roads, are different than 200 death out of 1000 who take the plane. As a result the first study should answer how many number of participants are taken??

Secondly, the assumption made by Airline industry representatives that pilots are less likey (probably) to have accidents on roads by four times may be true on real life since they are they spend most of their time in air so they less likely to drive their cars. Hence, depending on the previous assumption as indicator that piolots are more cautious than others may appear dubious.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion that flight is more secure than driving does little to prove that conclusion, since it does not address the assumptions already raised.