Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate studies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in f

The argument made by Airline industry representatives that flying is better than driving in terms of safety procedures since it depends on two specific reasons. First, study shows that a number of deaths caused by car accidents are much more than those of air planes. Another reason which implies that pilots are more careful as they are less likely to have accidents. However, the argument is not entirely logically convincing as it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First of all, the argument depends on an ambiguous study that shows that death rates from car accidents are much more than those of flight accidents. The study should clearly define where and when that study has been done? It may be taken in an undeveloped or third-world country which has not cultivated roads so that result to a large number of deaths. Also, mathematics not always give a precise indicator, in other words, 40000 out of 1000000 who drive cars on roads, are different than 200 death out of 1000 who take the plane. As a result, the first study should answer how many numbers of participants are taken??

Secondly, the assumption made by Airline industry representatives that pilots are less probably to have accidents on roads by four times may be true in real life since they are they spend most of their time in the air so they less likely to drive their cars. Hence, depending on the previous assumption as an indicator that pilots are more cautious than others may appear dubious.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion that flight is more secure than driving does little to prove that conclusion since it does not address the assumptions already raised.