An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The article argues that the recent study concerning about lavender flowers can cure insomnia in a short time. The article introduces the study, in which 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept with lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room. Although in the second week these volunteers felt tired and slept with a worse quality, in the third week, they slept longer and better than the two previous weeks, and therefore the result proves the effect of lavender. Although the argument seems reasonable, it is actually unconvincing on several grounds.

To begin with, the article fails to prove the significance of the study with such a small sample size. It is noteworthy that the sample size of this study is only 30. What is more, how these people were selected is not clear. We do not know any detailed information about these people, such as their gender, age, and body condition. The result of this study can just prove the effect of lavender flowers on these 30 volunteers, but may not represent a larger population. It is also possible that lavender flowers may not be useful for curing insomnia of other people. In short, identifying the fact that this study is effective does not necessarily support the argument that lavender flowers are effective for everyone.

In addition, the article provides no convincing evidence about the effect of lavender flowers in the normal environment. After all, the study was conducted in a controlled room, and it means there was no other noise in that room. However, in real life, when people want to sleep, they may be disturbed by all kinds of sounds, such as the music coming from their roommates. If the volunteers were put into a more noisy environment, the effect of lavender pillows would probably not be so effective. Hence, without ruling out the possibility that lavender pillows are also effective in other circumstances, the article may not justify the argument.

Furthermore, the fact that volunteers got better in the third week lends little support to the argument that lavender can help cure insomnia. It is noteworthy that in the second week when volunteers stopped their sleeping medication, they felt worse when they woke up. Subsequently, in the third week, they slept longer and more soundly. However, a possible explanation is that they slept longer and more soundly in the third week because they were extremely exhausted and tired after the second week. In other words, even without lavender pillows, these volunteers would probably sleep better in the third week. Therefore, the article concludes too hastily that lavender-scented pillows successfully cured volunteers’ insomnia.

In conclusion, what the article argues is unpersuasive as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the article must expand the sample size which is large enough to be really significant. Also, information about the effect of lavender-scented pillows in other circumstances will be useful to better assessing the argument. The article also needs to prove that the better quality of sleep in the third week is only related to lavender-scented pillows, but unrelated to the bad quality of sleep in the second week.