Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The author of the argument states that the deer population is declining blaiming global warming as the main cause of this situation, this argument is flawed in many ways and hence require a lot of proof to support its conclusion.

Although according to hunters the deer population is decreasing but this statement does not account for who these hunters are and for which region these hunters are talking about, it could be possible that these hunters are talking about a specific part of arctic and not about the whole arctic region which does not account for the overall decrease in the deer population. Or it may be possible that the hunters are just concerned about the deer population in a particular region where they hunts regularly.

However, the global warming is increasing and is causing the ice over the region to melt but this does not necessarily means that it is also causing the ice joining these aforementioned islands to melt also, this argument lacks through geological research and thus cannot account for the decline for the deer population.

As mentioned in the argument deers go to those locations where it is warm enough for the plants to grow in order for them to feed on it, which could also gives way to a possibility where the decrease in temperature might have halted the growth of plants on the islands and thus limiting the deers to go on those islands and instead look towards some other region for their food.

Hence this conclusion lacks some vital information and thus requires the author to collect more information regarding the migration patter change and global warming effect on the ice in that region and also about the recent activity of deer hunting in that region, without these in proofs this conclusion is irrrelevent.