Argument Topic: According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in t

Here the author proposes a system to decrease cheating among students and encourages other collage to adopt this system. The motive of the author to decrease cheating is of course very noble but the argument through which the author tries to convince this is rife with holes and assumptions. These flaws seriously weaken the argument and raise doubts on successfulness of honor system.

Firstly, the concept of honor system itself makes questionable assumptions. A student agreeing not to cheat does not necessarily mean he won’t cheat in exam, it is possible that the student is lying. Also relying on other students to notify cheating is a blind assumption, mostly students have strong feeling of unity among themselves and chance of anyone pointing fingers at other are very grim. Even if a student notices cheating, his or her more important priority would be completing his own test, hence most cheating cases would completely go unreported.

Also the argument claims that after implementing honor code cheating cases dropped, but did it really drop ? because those who reported these cases are themselves students and as concluded from previous paragraph, students cannot be trusted. It is highly possible that students themselves might have formed a collusion, and mutually decided not to report cheating cases so that honor code itself is not revoked. If this were true, it would also mean cheating cases have increased.

Citing a recent survey, the author reports that Groveton students themselves said they would be less likely to cheat with honor code in place. But a student who doesn't cheat would anyway wont cheat no matter which system is in place. Also is this survey reliable? It is possible that the survey was conducted before a exam and students deliberately chose this option so that honor code is not revoked. This again fallows from the conclusion of previous paragraph.

Even if one assumes that cheating did decrease at Groveton College, the author further cites that other collages should adopt honor code. But what worked for Groveton Collage might not work for all other others. It is possible that majority of student of Groveton College are from educated and revered families hence are more likely to honor a promise of not to cheat. But student environment at other collages might be completely different and honor system might fail in such case.

The argument stated here is not cogent enough to encourage other colleges to adapt Honor Code. To strengthen his or her argument the author would benefit by adding reliable facts, If teachers could verify that cheating did really decrease. Also a reliable survey should be conducted when students won’t be biased toward a particular view. But for other colleges to adopt honor code fully representative, valid and reliable survey has to be conducted across colleges.