Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that they should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to increase the public awareness about their movies. This sounds unpersuasive since it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the lack of public awareness is the reason for fewer audiences in the past year. However, is there any other reason for the low popularity? Maybe the positive reviews have reached to the audience but many of its movie theaters were closed last year due to financial problems. In addition, other successful movies might have been released last year. Moreover, it is possible that due to the economic downturn in the past year, it might have been a general phenomenon in the movie industry. Thus, whether there were alternative reasons for fewer audiences in the past year might damage its argument.

Second, the author presumes that qualities of the Super Screen movies were not the reason for the low popularity. However, does the positive reviews are for the majority of the movies? Perhaps, the positive reviews were biased on a few movies that the most of its movies did not attain positive reviews. If so, the most of the super screen movies were not popular among the public. Therefore, the answer on whether the positive reviews were for the most of its movies will corroborate its argument.

Lastly, the author supposes that the advertisement was ineffective due to less budget. Nevertheless, before making a hasty decision to increase the share of its budget in advertising, the author should consider if the current advertising is enough or not. It is likely that currently they do have enough budget but its strategy was poor that its effectiveness is low. For instance, the company is doing the advertisement during the daytime but mostly the target audience is working outside during the day that the advertisement ould not reach to them appropriately. If so, the company should choose to change its advertising method rather than just increasing the share of the budget. Thus, the answer on whether the current budget has enough budget and the evaluation of its strategy would bring the expected result for the company.

To sum up, the author should answer the aforementioned questions to strengthen or corroborate its argument.