In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the prompt, the author stated that Prunty Country should undertake the improvement project: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving the visibility at dangerous intersections to improve highway safety as like as Butler Country do. The recommendation is drawn based on the success of the project taken by Butler Country, where fewer accidents occurred in last year than the previous year. Before admitting to this statement veritable, more evidence needs to present to dispel criticisms that can significantly weaken the conclusion.

Firstly, one question is raising about the car drivers of Prunty Country as they are not following the law to keep the speed limit within 45 miles. Will they keep the limit at 55 miles per hour if the highways are improved? What will be happened if they drive at a speed of more than 100 km? There is the possibility of transgression as they are not already obeying the law. So, if the drivers continue to drive at high speed, the alternative way won't work, and the situation will remain as in previous years.

Additionally, are the number of cars in Prunty Country and Butler Country the same? If there are more vehicles in the Prunty Country comparing its' roads and highways than Butler Country, numbers of car accidents won't decrease. It's common scenario happening accidents at busy highways more than the narrow roads where less transportation is used. If this is a fact for Butler Country highways, the recommendation given on the original argument will be flawed strongly.

Finally, another possible issue that can impair the conclusion of the prompt is the region of the Prunty Country is not the same as Butler Country. If they differ from one another, Prunty country is full of hills tracks while the flat and straight road is all over the Butler country. If this is true, judging the country which is not the same region isn't a rational decision. So, before coming to the conclusion, other issues should be taken into concern, or this nuance issue can damage the effectiveness of the new project.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to the reliance on several unwarranted assumptions Considering all these probable circumstances, before concluding, the author must think about probable hindrances. If more evidence takes the side of the project of highway improvement then it will possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to improve the highway of Prunty County.