In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it is true that highway safety must be improved at Prunty County as there is high accident rate, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case for emulating Prunty County with Bulter County. According to the author, to improve safety at Prunty County they should undertake the project which has already completed by Bulter County. While the correlations could be logical and probable, there may be hidden factors that are responsible for no improvement in highway safety.

The author’s first mistake is to assume that the speed limit is the cause of most of the accident. He claims...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.