"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of

accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from

50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents

that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The increase moped traffics and the number of accidents have been closely linked in the given argument and the results of another island has been taken as a foreground for the prediction of the future events in the hope to achieve similar results and decrease the number of accidents. But, there lies too many loopholes in the considerations and the assumptions seems faulty and fails to consider variables other than mopeds. The given premise are incomplete which seriously compromises the conclusions.

First and foremost the author is completely taken by the moped counts that he focuses all of the attentions towards it. We are not given the exact information of how many mopeds were there in the very beginning, we cannot argue by merely a sentence which says the number has reached 100,000 during summer. The increase may be substantial if the previous population was around 50 thousands and the solution may lie in limiting the moped but what if previously there were already 99 thousands and the surge is only 1 thousand which under no means can be considered increase. The author may validate his argument only by providing enough evidence that the population has really increased manifolds by providing the previous numbers, then only limiting the moped population may do the work.

Apart from the moped population the role of the pedestrians in the accidents is completely overlooked. Any limit in the number of mopeds would have no effect if the real cause is the pedestrian and their habits of wandering in the roads. The author simply overlooks the pedestrian assuming they have no hand what so ever in the accidents including them. He may only prove the worth if he had done a pre-study on the impact of pedestrians and vindicate them of the blame, then and then only limiting the moped number would dramatically reduce the accidents.

Moving on from the moped population and the impact of pedestrian the author seriously thinks that limiting the number from 50 per day to 25 per day would result in lesser accidents what if the main reason is the road condition and uncontrolled traffic. Again no research has been performed on road conditions which is a major factor in the road accidents and therefore limiting the moped per day would reduce the accident or not cannot be proven with accuracy completely out casting one major factor. The author, however, may validate his point by setting out a research team on road survey and other variables which could have a real impact on road accidents.

Moving on, one major fallacy of the author is assuming the success of implementation of any new law just on the background that doing so another party has achieved the feat. He turns completely blind and follows what other have done in their island and achieved the success. One can simply not rule out the fact even the slightest change in the scenario has a complete turnaround in any event. So, author cannot simply prove his point without providing concrete evidence the program would be a success in homeland. However, he can emulate the triumph given the all the factors between the two islands remain the same.

In a nutshell, it is easy to say that if one program is a success in one condition and in one state or island the same would be the case everywhere but it is not so. The author cannot simply over-rule the road conditions, the impact road conditions has on the accidents along with the mind state of the pedestrians. The argument seems more like a bombastic and quixotic one but not relevant.