"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author attempts to indicate a causal relationship between the number of mopeds rented by the rental companies in the Balmer island and the number of accidents involving mopeds. Specifically, the author advocates a measure to curb the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians in Balmer island, based on the amelioration achieved in a neighbouring island, by adopting ‘identical’ measures. She provides a quantitative recommendation and a prediction of its positive effect on the percent annual reduction in the accidents involving mopeds. As will be substantiated in the following, the author, however, makes an implicit assumption and fails to justify it, that the islands are indeed comparable, to be able to derive conclusions about one on the basis of the observations drawn from another.

The mopeds are described as a ‘popular’ form of transport in the Balmer island, leaving the fact to the speculation on how this view was developed. It also leaves the question about the validity and the scope of this view. Suppose if it was a public view surfacing from a survey, then, what fraction and region of the Balmer island population was engaged in this survey, what was the actual questionnaire etc.

Along the same line of reasoning, assuming that, mopeds are indeed a ‘popular’ mode of transportation, it is cited that during summer, population rises to 100,000. The statement seems to imply a significant growth, but does not mention the initial population, without which one cannot appreciate this phenomenon, even if true. Consequently, it fails to ‘strongly’ buttress the recommendation to reduce the limit on the number of rented mopeds especially during the ‘summer’ season. In addition, it raises the question over the validity of this observation, specifically, over how many summer seasons this phenomenon of the population rise has been ‘consistently’ observed.

Furthermore, the argument does not provide an explicit connection between, the popularity of mopeds, and the summer season. The author needs to explicitly address the question about whether the mopeds are a popular mode of transportation during the summer season too; leaving this connection up for speculation reduces the efficacy of this recommendation.

Even if we decide to take a lax approach towards the above mentioned loopholes in the argument, the quantitative nature of these recommendations and predictions motivates a need for a quantitative comparison between the Balmer and Seaville islands themselves, for this recommendation to be considered at its face value. Specifically, does the Balmer and Seaville islands have similar population, does the moped a popular mode of transportation in the Seaville island too, does the Seaville island also goes through the rise in the population, at similar scale as in the Balmer island during the summer season, etc. The author does not attempt to establish a quantitative equivalence between the two islands but proposes a quantitative recommendation which is identical to the one that supposedly worked in the Seaville island.

I would like to submit that in an attempt to strengthen the casual relation between the number of mopeds rented by the rental companies in the Balmer island and the percent annual reduction in the number of moped accidents, the author needs to address the loopholes in her argument as described above before considering equivalences between the two islands. Even after we assume these logical fallacies to have been resolved, the author should corroborate her quantitative recommendations and predictions with the quantitative evaluation of the equivalence of the two islands over the germane parameters.