"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

The author in the above argument has made conclusion with the number of the assumption. The author concludes to abandon butter which will increase in the cost savings in the southeast as well as in northeast. There many discrete assumptions taken which hamper human reading ability to believe. There seems many loop in the above argument. Further, I would like to demonstrate it above.

First of all, the author readily assumes that it will be cost saving effect without any specific evidence southeast as well as northeast. There many assumptions without any solid ground. For example, the author in the preceding paragraph says that 2% of the customer have complain about it that implies 98coustmer are happy with the change which sound very unjustified. As there in no proper information about 2% from how many customers. Moreover, a proper statistical information must be given to get justified the author’s view about it. So to enforce the conclusion, the write must suggest strong evidence without any assumption.

Furthermore, in order to save the cost, the author says that the person who ask for the butter are given margarine. Hence, this is the way of cheating the customer. Moreover, there may adverse effect due to this. The costumer may further not visit the store. Costumer are called the king of the market and to cheat them can give harmful effect. Thus this is also the unappropriated suggestion given by the author.

Lastly, the author has come out with conclusion to eliminate the butter for the profitability. There are many other ways also to increase profitability. To cheat the costumer is not genuine. Moreover, the author suggests to do in the northeast as well as which is also sounding without any ground. As the action with the intention of the greed is always harmful. The profit will be earned, if we serve well. But this unrealistic suggestion given by the author.

On conclusion, there seems many loop with the author’s view. To wrap up my discussion over this argument, I would like to say the above argument contains many flaws with that of the illogical assumption taken by the writer. There seems no major reason for the evidence. It would have better if writer provides strong evidence for its conclusion.