Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

For a government to sustain its cultural traditions, it has to sustain the source as well as the custodian of those cultural traditions. This is why government must ensure that those cities that generate and preserve those cultural traditions are well funded to sustain their activities.

The major cities in a country are those cities that play host to the industries, market centers, shipping routes, as well as access routes to other countries. These activities are very vital for the well being of the society. They act as source of fund for government and therefore if not properly funded, would affect the revenue generated by the government. The roads need to be in good shape and constantly maintained to ensure that the daily commute of within those cities are smooth. There is need for steady power supply which is very vital to the activities in those cities. Power outage for a number of minutes could ultimately result in a cost unknown and the impact will be felt in government revenue and as well shortage of supply of certain products produced in such cities.

What about the other cities? Government should also pay attention to the other cities to enable them grow and begin to contribute to the cultural traditions of the society. Even at their original state, every city has a role it plays in the preservation and generation of the cultural traditions of a country. While most of the rural cities do not contribute a huge amount to the nations treasury, it can be argued that without them the other cities cannot sustain the industrial sectors. These industrial sectors depend on the rural areas to provide for its raw materials. It is in this rural cities that food for the nation is produced. They need to be properly funded as well so that they can develop their roads, have access to good pipe-borne water and in general, a better lively hood - one compare to what is obtained in the major cities.

In conclusion, government should share its fund among all the cities - both major and minor - to ensure that they all can properly plan and manage development. If government decides to allocate its fund to only the major cities, then it will lose the contributions that would have been made by the other cities. These other cities in turn will be completely dependent on government for their funds. The inhabitants of such cities will begin to move to the major cities in search of better livelihood. The overall effect on the major cities would be over population.