Claitown University needs both affordable housing for its students and a way to fund the building of such housing. The best solution to this problem is to commission a famous architect known for experimental and futuristic buildings. It is common knowledge that tourists are willing to pay money to tour some of the architect's buildings, so it can be expected that tourists will want to visit this new building. The income from the fees charged to tourists will soon cover the building costs. Furthermore, such a building will attract new students as well as donations from alumni. And even though such a building will be much larger than our current need for student housing, part of the building can be used as office space.

The author of this argument recommends that in order to fund the building of affordable housing for Claitown University’s students, the best way is to commission a famous architect known for experimental and futuristic buildings. To support his recommendation, he claims that it can attract new students and tourists and consequently income from the fees charged to tourists will soon cover the building costs. And even though such a building will be much larger than our current need for student housing, part of the building can be used as office space. This recommendation is specious on several grounds.

The writer of this argument claims that the best solution to solve Claitown University’s problem to fund the building of affordable housing for its students, is to commission a famous architect known for experimental and futuristic buildings. This solution cannot be practical because undoubtedly, a famous architect receive an extraordinary amount of money to do it and likely, he receives his money immediately and does not stay for long time. On the basis of this argument, this university does not have enough budget to pay this amount of money. If it is assumed that this famous architect accepts to do it, there is not any guarantee for attracting tourists. Maybe this work of this architect is not attractive and consequently people do not have any motivation to visit these new buildings. Thus, Claitown University’s authorities cannot achieve enough money, approximately equal to their assumptions, to manage their expenses and it puts them in financial crisis. Again assuming it is possible and practical, another author’s claim about attracting new students and donations from alumni cannot be acceptable. It is unanimously believed that students select a university on the basis of the scientific criteria not tourist’s attractions.

Another problem in this argument is about considering extra parts of the buildings for office space. As a matter of fact, if number of students increases sharply, all of these buildings will be used by them and consequently, there will not be any free space to use for office part.

In final analysis, it can be stated that this recommendation is on the basis of a number of assumptions which all of them are challengeable and it is accepted provided that all of the above questions are answered and all weaknesses are removed.