Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has recently faced profitability issues based on the use of

Chemical X in its manufacturing process. The main by-product produced when using Chemical X is

covered under stringent environmental regulations, making it very difficult and expensive to dispose of. A

similar processing product, Chemical Y, has recently been discovered, and can be used by Cot-Ten at a

minimal cost of switching. The CEO of Cot-Ten has declared that the company will increase profits by

switching to Chemical Y by the end of the month.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The CEO of the Cot-ten, a cotton producing company has decided to switch to Chemical Y from Chemical X in manufacturing process of cotton, as he believes that disposing Chemical X is expensive and changing over to Chemical Y will increase the profit by reducing this cost. The assumptions that are taken for the argument are not backed by evidence and leave many questions unanswered. The CEO has not mentioned if a detailed study on cost-benefit of switching to other chemical was done prior to the decision. Also, if Chemical Y is newly discovered there could be many health hazards associated with it that may not have been identified as of yet. Likewise many other points need to be clarified before assuming that shifting to a new chemical will be safe and profitable.

Switching to a new Chemical Y from Chemical X would be profitable only if the cost of disposing the chemical is majorly relevant to the total cost. It is nowhere checked for how much does the cost of disposing the chemical is in context of overall costs. If this expenditure is meagre then replacing the chemical would have no impact on overall profits. The CEO must also consider if the new chemical would be able to produce the same quality of cotton. If using Chemical Y leads production of poor quality cotton then the profits would decrease owing to less number of buyers than before.

It is also mentioned that Chemical Y is recently discovered and therefore it is very possible that it may have severe health and environmental hazards for which it may not have bee tested. If such a case arises the expenditure on remediation of such cases would definitely be far exceeding than the present case. The fact that Chemical Y is new could be the reason why it is not yet under the scanner for environmental damages. And the byproducts of the Chemical may be harmful in various indirect ways than Chemical X. The CEO must do a complete analysis of the fact and only then switch to new Chemical Y.

To sum, the CEO has made an argument based on assumptions that lack supporting evidence and lot of questions unanswered. Going ahead with the decision may lead a further decrease in profits or worse pose a health hazard to the people and the environment around.