The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Concerned with the county becoming overdeveloped, the council of Maple County has posed a solution to the problem. The council states that preventing the development of existing farmland in the county would sufficiently protect their citizens from living on overdeveloped terrain. However beneficial, the lawmakers have studied neighboring counties and, incorrectly, conclude that this measure would cause housing prices to rise significantly. The council cites similar increases within Pine County as evidence for their findings but seems to ignore evidence originating from other counties. Therefore, this conclusion is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Firstly, the council bases its evidence on what happened in Pine County after they introduced restrictions on the development of residential housing fifteen years ago. This specious comparison hinges on the assumption that restrictions on new residential housing have the same effect as halting development on existing farmland. The author of the argument cites no studies or valid research providing any proof for this matter, thus converting the evidence into an underdeveloped assumption.

Secondly, the city council has not taken into account the era in which the other counties passed their laws. The underlying factors, such as the political and economic climate have changed and demand to be investigated before any parallels can be drawn. Whereas Pine County established a similar measure fifteen years ago, Chestnut County did so only ten years ago. The fact that the former had disastrous consequences for the housing market but the latter did not, raises an important issue. If a mere five-year-difference can have such an impact on the outcome of a proposal, then it is safe to infer that passing a similar law an astounding ten years later will have an incomparable impact that begs for further investigation of economic and political circumstances.

Moreover, the author makes use of vague language that renders it impossible to correctly estimate the increase in housing prices in Maple County. By citing that the costs in Chestnut County have only “increased modestly”, the council provides no way of comparing the actual numbers. Similarly, the lawmakers conclude that the prices in Maple County “will significantly” increase, again making it unclear by what percentage the prices will rocket after implementing the new measure.

Even though the conclusion is not based on valid evidence, there is some merit to the underlying issue. The county council should invest time and resources in studying their neighboring counties properly. They should determine the specific percentages by which housing prices have risen and clearly delineate the differences and similarities between their proposed measure and Pine County’s implemented law.

In conclusion, the assertion that the housing prices in Maple County will rise significantly is not based on any coherent evidence. It is clear the city council needs to further investigate the claims on which they have built a proposal. Only then will they be able to properly predict the changes in housing prices.