The editor of a local newspaper sent the following memo to the managing editor of the paper:

“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although the editor concludes that hiring the most experienced journalists and firing the less experienced reporters will increase the readership, the editor' s argument does not make a cogent case. The argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to make such a claim.

Citing surveys of subscribers, the editor attributes the rise in readership to the experienced journalists. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of that survey. For example, the survey could have been conducted online, which may have not allowed for an active participation of all the subscribers. The sample may have not been representative of subscribers, asking only those subscribers who are in a particular age group. The survey may have been objective with a score ranging from 0 to 5. We do not know on how the editor interpreted the score to be of high/low quality. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it can not be used to effectively back the editor's argument.

Additionally, the editor claims there has been a 13 percent increase in the subscriber base. This may have been due to a decrease in popularity of the rival newspapers. Moreover, there is no information on the actual number of subscribers. This 13 percent increase would have been significant if there had been 10000 subscribers and now there are 11300 subscribers, whereas the increase would be less significant if there were 100 subscribers and now there are 113 subscribers. To strengthen his/her argument, the editor would benefit from including the actual number of subscribers.

The editor's argument does not justify the claim he has made. While the argument does highlight a possibility, more information is required to warrant any action.