The editor of a local newspaper sent the following memo to the managing editor of the paper:

“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There are many moving parts to a newspaper.  Journalists, though a vital part of a publication cannot solely be credited with its success, failure,  subscriber satisfaction or size.  A newspaper is part of a larger ecosystem of different arenas- editorial, sales and marketing, distribution amongst other parts.

To make this recommendation one would need to know by what means did the subscriber base grow.  Was it any of or a combination of other departments of the paper that contributed to this rise?  A concerted effort by the sales team could generate more subscribers.

As to the issue of rating the quality of the reporting and writing an editorial shift could easily influence such a result.   Was there a change the kinds of  stories, topics, issues covered since the increase? If so this cannot be credited to the hiring of veteran newspeople.

Another method to increase readership could be optimizing and or expanding its distribution networks.  Is the publication available to as many potential readers as possible? Could they build partnerships with other entities to widen its distribution reach?

In sum to properly evaluate the recommendation of the managing editor would require to examine how the subscriber base grew, the editorial influence on the quality of reporting, and explore other ways to maximize distribution.  From these question one cannot conclude firing younger reporter will lead to better quality or higher sales.