The editor of a local newspaper sent the following memo to the managing editor of the paper:

“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This statement adverts about a new hiring policy of a local newspaper in which they have started to try hiring older and experienced journalists rather younger, further, for next step they plan to fire younger and less experienced journalists gradually since they observe an increase in their subscribers and ratings. However, this plan includes several logical fallacies and overlooked possibilities need to be considered before they execute such immensely radical hiring policy.

First misjudgement is that they assume if they have all their journalists as experienced, then their increasing accelaration of succes continue to flourish. Nonetheless, only old ones may not be successful or cooperate successfully due to their egos, self-confidence, knowledgeability related to their experiences. To illustrate, there may be stubborn conlfict of interests or strategical internal power strifes. There is an overlooked possibility that merging old and young journalists may be beneficial to them since they teach each other and feed their specialization. However, hiring only old ones may create an old-fashioned, modest working environment and accordingly there can be an decrease in excitement of readers.

Second logical fallacy is that low quality problem may be arisen due to lack of enough employees, thus, few journalist cannot control and create great work but more employee can contribute more and they end up more qualified and meticulous pieces of news. As we know, it is also vital to catch up new innovation within a sector and may be some of young journalist has been worked on to search such market strategies to gain more subscribers and placate complaints, rumours.

Thirdly, there is a wrong assumption that this complains comprise large majority but there is a possibility that newspaper has broadcasted some radical and contentious news, as a result, some people feel uncomfortable and tried to interrupt this process by denigrating and threatening this newspaper before things get serious for these related ones.

Lastly, I recommend that they should first elaborata sources of these complaints which may involve politicians or famous one get interrupted and try to inhibit as precaution. After assuring this, they should conduct a research on evaluation of cooperation between young and experienced ones through human relations. Following with this analysis, if there seems advices or etc. They should reckon on number of employees in order to chec whether it is enough for their efficacy and quality or not.

In conclusion, all things considered, this local newspaper should contemplate and clarify these logical fallacies before taking any action.