Essay topics: Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

All of us know that there are a lot of departments and faculties in the university and each one of them is responsible to teach students in specific field of science. Although every faculty should concentrate in main field of study, there are many courses that are not directly related to that field and students should study that courses. The question that poses itself: Do student have to study only courses in field they are interested. In my point of view, students should study courses that they are interested in and some courses they are not interested in because many field in science are related either directly or indirectly and maybe some students feel lost and can not determine which courses they interested in.

First of all, many field of science are related to each other. Some of them have a direct strong connection and other have hidden or indirect connection. I mean by that, students can learn many courses in field they interested in but that does not mean that they cannot apply what they have learned in another field. For example, recently, all of us have noticed the role that technology does in our life but did anyone imagine that we can design and create machines that can detect tumor in some parts of human bodies?. Today we can use image processing and Artificial Intelligence techniques in field of medecin.So many field of science are integrated and students have to have some basic knowledge in some fields to be able to apply what they have learned perfectly.

Furthermore, some students may not be able to determine and choose what they want to be in the future or what the field they are interested in. so in this situation they cannot choose the courses and schools and universities have to help them to find themselves. For instance, every years,many students enters the faculty of electricity and as we know that this field is huge and have a lot of sub-fields.A new study shows that more than ten percent of them cannot choose directly what field they want to study so university have to introduce in the first two years some courses that can help them to have a knowledge about every section and that will help them to choose the field to continue their studies.

Finally, somebody may refute what I have said and claim that students loses their time when they study courses out of their studies.In my opinion; it is better to lose some time when they are young and in the first year of their study than feel lost after years of study at university.