Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of the professors in order to enable the graduates to get better jobs. He provides example of nearby Alpha University to provide support for his conclusion stating that graduates from Alpha University have succeeded at getting jobs more than graduates from Omega University. However, before evaluating the argument, these following three specific evidences must be provided.

First of all, it is important to evaluate whether the Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes due to the teaching effectiveness evaluation procedure performed by the students. The author, without any evidence, assumes that this evaluation process has forced the professors to act in a deceitful manner and assign more grades than the real grade obtained by the students. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that performance of the students has exiled and they are now more attentive in their studies, work hard than previous years and thus perform very well in the exams. The argument fails to address this case and so it is seriously flawed.

Secondly, it is very important to evaluate whether this overall increase in grades by 30 percent is a significant one. The author prematurely assumes that overall student grade averages has increased by a huge amount. However, in reality, this may not be true. It is very possible that their total grade increased by a very little amount. For example, if one got a grade of 40 out of 100 in a particular exam, then 30 percent increase means he would get only 52. His grade increased by only 12 points which may not be regarded as of significant value and thus improve his overall grade in a great extent. If this has merit, then the argument will not hold water.

Finally, it is necessary to evaluate whether there is direct relation between the students’ obtained grade and the possibility of getting jobs. The author, without providing necessary evidences, assumes that the students’ obtained grade are reflections of the necessary skills required for getting better jobs. In reality, this may not happen. It is very likely that the students study on advanced topics related to sophisticated research and findings which have a very little correlation with the requirements of the jobs. They are very adroit in topics which are out of the scope of the existing jobs. If this is so, then the students’ grade will not reflect their great inherent deftness and the argument will be seriously weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it relies on unwarranted assumptions which may turn out to be invalid. If the author is able to provide necessary evidences for the stated three cases and thus conduct research in a more scientific way, then it will be possible to evaluate the argument properly and accept the conclusion regarding termination of the teaching effectiveness evaluation of the students, otherwise the argument will not hold its ground as it is on surface.