Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall stu

It is stated that Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors.Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign good grades and overall student performance getting better.It is not mentioned there how much of the student population is getting good score so that we can determine the over all student performance.Even Professor evaluation criteria is not also mentioned here. It is quite impossible to gauge the student competitiveness in the university. I think what author says here has a very skeptical base to prove the whole thing true.

Let's discuss in more depth why the argument seems to be invalid. First, the author says that Students have been starting evaluating professors.So it may be possible Students who like their professors most , will rate good for that pedagogy.Despite the teacher's average teaching skills , his or her rapport with the students help him or her to get the stable position in the university.So teachers' ability and skills in the university also not mentioned here.So , may be to save his or her job, they are coerced to give them good rating. So, for this reason students are scoring high marks.

Secondly, it is not mentioned here how much of the students have scored good.So high scoring student population is also very confounding here.It does not give a terse point on the student performance in the university.It may be possible that for only particular department , the students are scoring high marks.But that does not give the university a prestige of higher scoring student population.So, in this case also the argument fails to draw any proposition.

Thirdly, it is also not mentioned properly how Professors are evaluated.May be there is a personal bias of a student to evaluate a professor to get a good rating.There may be another possibility that Professors are hapless so that they are giving good scores to students despite of their not so good academic performances; nothing but to save their job.

Next, it is not also mentioned there how much of the students population become successful after their study from the university.Sometimes good grade also not measure the criteria of a successful alumni.Percentage of successful alumni denotes the effectiveness as well as status of a University as well as for Student competitiveness.So ,if we adjoin all these points the whole statement that is made by the author falls short.It does not have any depth of research as well as not so sound analytical view to reach this statement.