Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph

Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders

approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required

approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to

construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph

Construction.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions in the expert’s claim. Be

sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the

argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that for overall reduced costs for the newly planned dormitory, Aleph construction should be hired. While the argument could be true, it is rife with holes and assumptions. In reaching the conclusion that author draws from a fact five years before and assumes that it would hold good in the present. The claim of the author is highly weakened by the doubts casted on the validity of several assumption he make.

The foremost assumption is that since five years before Gimmel constructions cost for building was twenty percent more than that of Aleph's, Aleph remains to be the most economic contractor. A lot could have changed in five years. It is highly possible that the contractors would have changed the technologies they use in construction and that would have impacted the costs they accrue. Maybe they have changed their construction practices and revised their employee salaries. It is even possible that their policies on profit percentage has changed, which will have a marked effect on the prices they quote. Indeed a new company often times would discount their prices to gain customers and once they have a hold in the market, they will increase their profit margin. These all could affect the cost of construction in the present time. To validate this assumption it is required that their costs be compared on any recent constructions or by requesting quotations for the new dormitory. Even then there lies an unstated assumption that there are no other contractors available. Maybe it was the case five years ago. But chance for other players who would still be economically efficient cannot be ruled out without putting up the contract for an auction. Concluding that Aleph will be the best option to reduce construction cost will be a big mistake in any of the above said situations.

The author assumes that the two dormitories built five years before can be compared as they are identical. The term 'identical' is too vague to suggest something unambiguously. What are the identical aspects between the two? Is it just the shape or is it the size? Is it just the external appearance? Is the internal arrangement and the facilities provided the same? For example if the fixtures used inside are from different makers and of different quality the difference in their price alone could explain or even set off the assumed monetary benefit. To make the assumption strong enough to back the argument it should examined how far the buildings are similar and any chance of significant variations which could impact the cost should be ruled out.

On the other hand the author points out that the dormitory constructed by Aleph requires ten percent more annually on maintenance. This in fact if anything, casts doubt on the reduced 'overall cost'. To prove that it does not the expense on the maintenance should be researched. The assumption is that ten percent hike on the annual maintenance will not set off the twenty percent gain on the construction cost. This of course is an unwarranted assumption and while it could be that way without finding the actual figures of construction and maintenance cost, we don’t know whether it will bolster or weaken the argument. Even then it can be doubted whether a higher maintenance cost points to the necessity of an earlier reconstruction.

Even though the argument put forward by the author is interesting the assumptions that undergird the argument are flawed. As a result the argument is not strong enough to make a case for awarding the contract for the new construction to Aleph Construction.