"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the argument states that the company should start production of Alpaca overcoat again after five years in order to make a substantial profit. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that having good suppliers of high-quality wool fabric make it necessary to start production. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether people are still interested in these materials. One point that should be considered is that although people were interested in high-quality wool fabric five years ago, there is no guarantee people still prefer to use these materials as five years ago. With the advent of new technologies and new fashion, people may prefer to put on clothes based on latest fashion. It is also important to say that there is no guarantee new wool fabric be still in a high- quality.

The author also holds the view that none of the competitors offered a suitable product during these years. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if other companies still offer wool fabric materials. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe other competitors totally have changed their productions and are offering new materials that are appealing to consumers. So, in this way, stop production of old materials and replace them with the new one could be beneficial for the company. Moreover, maybe competitors stopped production of overcoat due to the lack of demands.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author overall increase in clothes' prices could be profitable for the company because people pay more for the clothes. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if an increase in the price of other clothes means people pay the same amount of money for Alpaca overcoat. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe other companies use expensive materials in their clothes and produce high-quality clothes, which are easy to put on. There is no guarantee people pay the same amount of money for this coat. So, this may put future marketing of the company in trouble.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.