The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The article states that Dr. Field’s observation-centered method inaccurately represents child rearing in Tertia due to discrepancies found during Dr. Karp’s observation-centered investigation. Therefore, Dr. Karp concludes that his method is better in determining the overall culture of Tertia. This needs to be reexamined due to flaws in assumptions.

Firstly, the conclusion rests on the assumption that if the child talks more about their biological parents, then it is the parents that are more invested in the child’s rearing. Although there may be some correlation, it does not ensure causation. The children may talk more about their parents because they know more about them. Care takers, on the other hand, are just there to oversee the children and not establish any personal bonds with them. That can explain why the children spoke more about the parents. To further investigate this, there should be a survey that asks the child about who they spend the most time with and what they do with the other adults in the village. This will tell what is being done in the time they spend with the respective parties, shedding light on whether or not the assumption is viable.

Secondly, Dr. Field’s observations were done twenty years ago, which can explain the dissonance between the findings. We are not sure if the child rearing culture has changed since then, so it could be that Dr. Field’s was correct at that time. This can weaken the conclusion since it leads to the possibility that observation is actually an accurate method. To see if there was some sort of cultural change that occurred, Dr. Karp should also engage in observation to see if the findings coincide with his interviews. If they do, then that would show that Dr. Field’s findings are just outdated and that his method may still be relevant.

In summation, the conclusion reached by Dr. Karp is based on some flawed assumptions and so further investigation is needed.