The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author has stated about the life of children in Tertia with regard to their upbringing. He has also mentioned about a former anthropologist's work and has degraded his methodology of studying culture with a note of renovation in the approach that he claims to become more successful. The two major flaws in his statement is that he has not substantiated his conclusion about the new methodology that he aims to follow nor has he given a brief insight about the reasons for rejecting the former author's work. Hence I stand against his claims that is being presented with vague and irrational statements. The reasons and evidences for disagreeing will be mentioned in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the author has stated that his research is based on his interviews with the children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia. Clearly, we are left suspended without any evidence claiming that the children were from Tertia or not which opens room for more such doubts. Also, he has mentioned that the children spends more time in thinking about their biological parents. This again leaves voids in actual realization of the culture, that is, the readers are left in an oblivion. What exactly the children think about their parents ? With what reason the author claims that these children are from the Tertian culture ? are some definite questions that pops up to a reader.

Secondly, the author has degraded the inveterate observation-centered approach of his peer based on a research that was recorded two decades ago. This is in-sensual, since two decade is a very long time to base it as a proof to discard a methodology. There might have been prolific changes in the Tertian culture in the past two decades which the author has failed to analyze and hence is it highly bleak to claim his methodology to be superior.

To conclude, though the author has given hopes for the new methodology in a disparate discipline of study, his lack of rationalizing his claims portrays the statements to be nonintellectual. Hence I disgree with his claim.