The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in The group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation- The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this article, the anthropologist have advocated that the Tertian village culture as invalid based on the interviews with children living there and the have concluded that the interview centered method provides a valid result rather than the observation centered approach. However, this conclusion can be purported if the following three questions are addressed.

Firstly, was the interview centered method conducted in a scientific method? In other words, were the children interviewed on a standard questionnaire? perhaps the questionnaire was discursive and couldn't depict the desired results. The survey may not have included the valid questions which could lead to the desired approach, especially for the children. if any of these experiences comes true, the conclusion above doesn't hold water.

Secondly, was sufficient number of children interviewed from all the areas of tertia? was the interview, conducted only in the groups of islands that included tertia, able to portray the entire image of tertia? perhaps the interview conducted mainly on children of the islands that Did not subsume the tertia. Besides, the likelihood might be quite generalized as it was not exactly of tertia. if any of these is true, the conclusion above is flawed.

Finally, is it valid to preclude the the viewing centered approach? The observation centered approach might potentially be a better method to conclude accurate understanding of child rearing in tertia. Further, the anthropologist might be less careful during the interview centered method than the observation method And if ending of up with a faulty ennue. if any of these doubts are proved, the conclusion cannot be counseled.

The argument, as it represents now, is highly flawed due to its blind reliance on a number of faulty assumptions. if the author is able to answer the aforesaid questions and provide more evidence in the form of a research work and dispel the drastically flawed doubts The validity of this tie might verified and it might be concluded hat the interview centered method is far more valid than the observation one and occlude the results obtained from that.