The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

The marketing director of Classical Shakespeare Theatre is asserting that they should start a ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program which would eventually attract more audience and increase profits.He bases his claim on the fact that two years ago a similar company named Avon Repertory Company started similar kind of programs and their profits increased by 10 percent.The author’s argument seems convincing at first, but on close scrutiny, it is seen that the argument provides scant evidence that can prove the validity of the recommendation made.

Firstly,the author states that there was a 20 percent decline in the size of average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions.This claim seem to be spurious as a 20 percent decline over 10 years is not a significant amount as the author does not state the exact number of people which declined , this point might prove nothing as the population increased over the period of 10 years and hence would not account to a significant amount eventually.

Secondly,the fact that there is a decrease in population of audience attending the shows in spite of increased advertising implies one of the two things .First , due to the increasing trends of modernization people are not fond of Shakespearian plays now as they were before.Second, the means of advertising are improper and hence did not create the perceived impact.Also it is quite likely that the timing’s of the show might not be feasible to all audience. If the shows run between the general office timings during a weekday then their would surely be a significant drop in the number of audience.Hence the marketing director must consider all factors like the show timing’s and increasing the frequency of shows to help improve his business.

Last but not the least, the major assumption of starting a new program lies on the basis of the nearby Avon Repertory Company as they started a similar kind of program which helped improve profits.The author hastily correlates both the companies and assumes that their company would also profit from the same.As the program started by Avon was two years ago, the director should consider the changing economic and socio-political conditions before starting the program . As in the current scenario it is quite possible that the program would not succeed as before.Also the nature of plays in the ‘Free Plays in Park ‘ program is not clearly stated as the other company only features Shakespearian plays which would not have the same effect as that of Avon Repertory Company.Hence the assumption of the author about the new program yielding profits is specious at best.

In sum, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons.

To make his argument more persuasive the author should have provided us with evidence stating the similarities in both companies programs.The marketing directing should have considered all the facts and means to augment profits before hastily assuming that the new ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program.Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.